Beating procrastination

Typewriter in monochromeI was once told that I was too smart to use any of the productivity hacks against procrastination — I could see through my reward systems, etc.

Although I suspect my problem is more due to fear, just like everyone else’s. Fear of failure, or of success. Of being noticed or asked to do more, or being unheard.

And for me, there is the fear of increased physical pain in most of what I want to get done. Fibro, endometriosis and random virus infections eat my to-do lists more often than not.

I often tell myself, I’m not a routine person – my daily routine is always modified by how I’m feeling physically. To-do and goal lists run pages long, impractical even for the most super-productive person in the world.

But I suspect it’s more about the fear of hurting, than the actual hurting – when I get things done, I typically feel relieved and happy (even if it hurts).

The reward system isn’t strong enough to beat this. Perhaps an accountability buddy would be, if I could find one who understood that sometimes the to-dos are less important than crashing.

What are your favourite anti-procrastination and productivity hacks?

Let me know in the comments below!

If you have a friend in a similar situation, who could add their productivity hacks, please share this post.

About LearnedWords
Freelance writer and language coach. Eternally curious, eternally learning. Managing multiple chronic pain illnesses.

Leave a Reply

