For the gentlest of cats

Gingy sleepingAfter a struggle with diabetes for two years, I have heard that my gentle, green-eyed giant Gingy passed away.

I haven’t seen him since I left Australia three years ago, and have missed him terribly since.

He was a very loving cat, gentle and not brave. Scared of the open sky, the cat carrier, and slow to anger.

Not overly clever, he would complain about any closed door even though he could walk around through the open ones and get to where he wanted to be.

Loving comfort, blankets and beanbags covered in fur. The sound of my heater turning on would bring him running.

One whiff of eucalyptus or mint would make him very happy, he hunted my Tiger balm-covered limbs, and adored catnip. No box was ever safe from fur, teeth or claws.

He always kept me company on the couch as I battled my chronic illnesses, or on a pillow next to me as I worked.

Gingy is forever with me in my heart and thoughts.

Rest in Peace, Gingy, 2004 – 2013

About LearnedWords
Freelance writer and language coach. Eternally curious, eternally learning. Managing multiple chronic pain illnesses.

One Response to For the gentlest of cats

  1. So sorry for your loss. Gingy sounds a bit like my recently departed Gingerboy, Ollie.

Leave a Reply

